Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
chuckrock

First time setting up PV 600

15 posts in this topic

I have a PV 600 (2711-T6C2L1) touch that I am trying to connect to a PLC/PC network via ethernet so any pc can download a program to it for any PLC on the network. I am having a problem assigning the PV an ip address. I am new to this process. I just finished adding a Micrologix 1100B to the network and none of the tactics of assigning the controller an ip address are working for me again. The PV 600 setting screen for "communications setup" is only giving me the DH 485 setting (max node, node, and baud). I have a 1747-C11 cable to connect from the PV to a separate PC(not on the network) ethernet connection. I was believing that I could direct connect the two and use RSLinx classic or Factory Talk ME to find it and from there assign an IP. After trying many combinations to no such luck I moved on. Also tried RsLinx classic direct connection of PV ethernet port to separate PC ethernet port to no such luck. I tried by creating a crossover cable option, and straight cable option. I have tried connecting the PV to the network and running bootp server to catch a MAC address from the PV and assign the ip address, but I was getting 3 new MAC addresses and assigned each of them a unique IP and followed by trying to find it in RsLinx classic. Since I am new, I am betting am making a simple mistake. Any help is appreciated. Thanks