Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Euler

How to find a first job as a controls engineer

18 posts in this topic

Hello everyone, I just registered to this website and found it really hard to search in the archive of old threads so excuse me if I'm re-posting something that was probably discussed before. I would really appreciate it if someone gives me an url for something similar or for any advice. I have a bachelores and a masters in electrical and computer engineering from another country that are totally equivalent to American degrees (documents and EIT license) with a relatively high GPA. I am a professional programmer of microcontrollers in assembly and C and went in math all the way in school and taught digital and microprocessor design and control systems and programmed AB PLCs overseas. It's my 2nd year in the US but I'm about to become a citizen for serving in the US army in war zones (I received my green card upon arrival). I was first looking for embedded system design jobs and after wasting so much time researching I found that most of the engineering jobs in that field were exported to Asia (China, India, ...) so I started looking for the much easier PLC and HMI programming jobs ("easier", for me, because I have a very strong programming aptitude and experience). I applied to literally thousands of jobs but nothing worked. My weak point is the lack of networking and social and professional connections. I came across a couple of funny employers who tried to take advantage of me thinking that I'm a foreigner (my looks and English are very similar to Americans!!) but I couldn't get an interview with a real employer because they all require many years of "US documented" experience. I was giving up recently when a recruiter got me an interview in a small-medium company here in NJ. The interview was about 5 hours of all kinds of tests that I scored real high (especially the "programming aptitude" test) but I couldn't remember the details of setting up a la