Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
vinny

CRC 8 Calculator

3 posts in this topic

Hi I am fairly new to TWINCAT and am trying to translate a bit of code for a checksum CRC8 calculator. I have the following code, which I think is in C# (which I have no experience in whatsoever) unsigned char CalcCRC8(unsigned char *Data) { unsigned char LoopCntr; unsigned char A; unsigned char B; unsigned char CRC8 = 0; B = 0; while (*(Data + B)){ A = *(Data + B); for (LoopCntr = 0; LoopCntr < 8; LoopCntr++, A >>= 1){ // 8 bit loop if ((A ^ CRC8) & 0x01){ // test bit 0 of (Data XOR CRC8) CRC8 ^= 0x18; // toggle bits 3 and 4 of CRC8 CRC8 >>= 1; // rotate right CRC8, 1 time CRC8 |= 0x80; // set bit 7 of CRC8 } else { CRC8 >>= 1; // rotate right CRC8, 1 time } } B++; } return CRC8; // return CRC8 } I would be most grateful if someone could translate it for me! Thank you very much