Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
dgwill

Timers

6 posts in this topic

Question - is it possible for a timer to go faulty? I had an issue whereby I had the problem of a timer appearing not to operate, even though conditions said it ought to work. As I am a beginner when it comes to programming I overcame the problem by wiring in an external timer. This had the desired result and the equipment is functioning as intended.

I guess everything could fail one way or another. But it's quite hard to imagine that something designed to be robust enough for industrial applications like PLC would continue to operate and yet have nonfunctional timers. Since you say you are newbee, it is possible that for example you don't know yet how to use them or that you have same timer used more than once. Thats where you start using cross reference to see if one coil is used and where. I would suggest to post your code so we can take a closer look at it and help you find the culprit.

Just to clarify - this programme has been operational for years ( long before I joined the company) so it is not a new issue.