WKla

Q PLC Communication

32 posts in this topic

Hello, We have to configure a Q series PLC that needs to comunicate with: - 2 or 3 Modbus Slave devices (RS485) - 3 proprietary protocol devices (each use 1 serial port for communication) Which serial port module should I use: QJ71C24N or QJ71MB91. The QJ71MB91 support native modbus master/slave protocol but I didn't read nothing about supporting user protocol (like RS function in FX series). On the other hand the QJ71C24N supports a variety of methods for communication using user protocols, but it looks like it doesn't support Modbus. Are there any function blocks that I could use for implementing modbus protocol on QJ71C24N, or I should use one QJ71MB91 and one or more QJ71C24N modules. I have choose the Q03UDE CPU with Ethernet interface. Does the Ethernet interface, which is equipped with, support modbus TCP slave protocol? I'm a beginner in Q series PLC. Thank you.

Modbus TCP protocol is supported by QJ71MT91 module only. Edited by Inntele

Agreed, however depending if you want RS232 or RS485 you can choose QJ71C24N-R2 or QJ71C24N-R4. That way you can use one card for two peripheral devices...

Modbus TCP protocol is supported by QJ71MT91 module only and the PLC of a series of QnU with a built-in Ethernet.

Hello, I have found the library for the modbus tcp (client/server) for built-in Ethernet (article id on beijer site: DSSE-8QDHC7(GX Works) or DSSE-8RHGF5(GX IEC)), but i didn't found the modbus library for QJ71C24N. I will use the built-in Ethernet with modbus tcp for local SCADA, and I think the speed is ok (article id: DSSE-8RJBX2). I think I will use the QJ71MB91 anyway, but I just want to see if it is possible to use modbus protocol with QJ71C24N module. Thank you.

this is for example

The QJ71C24N supports several built-in protocols, which can be selected and configured with GX Configurator-SC or the built-in tools in GX Works2. Modbus is one of them.