Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
The_Merovingian

OMRON Connection Problem CQM1-CIF02 Interface Unit

9 posts in this topic

Hello All. I am hoping someone can help me, I am having a bit of trouble with my new laptop. Originaly I used a CQM1-CIF02 Interface Unit (Serial -Serial) to connect to a CPM1a- CPU. My new laptop has no Serial port. I have tried a USB-Serial converter and also a PCMCIA to Rs232. I have selected the correct ports within CX-Programmer but both of them return an error saying no CPU found. Does anyone know if the CQM1-CIF02 interface is only compatible with Serial to Serial or can it be used on USB-Serial converter and/or on a PCMCIA to Rs232? I no longer have acces to my old laptop and I have only the one CQM1-CIF02 cable so I am hoping its not the cable and interface unit that needs replacing.? If so is there a USB-CIF02 direct replacement? As I am new to OMRON do I need the Interface unit? Thank you in advance Nick

Hi Nick, I'm using CQM1-CIF02 + third party RS232 -> USB with my laptop it woks for me fabulously. OS : Win7 x64bin Home Premium CX Programmer Version: 9.03 I think you have a problem with your USB converter cable. - Chinthana

Hello Chinthana Thank you for the reply, Yes it seems to be a problem with my USB-Serial cable; But it's ok because I got the PCMCIA-Serial card working so all is good with the world...lol. Being a Allen-Bradley brat I was getting quite confused...lol Thanks again, Nick

PCMCIA is a good solution usually if your laptop has the slot. More recent machines are doing away with it or they sport PC Express slots, that have an entirely different form factor (my current laptop is a Lenovo ThinkPad T410 and comes with it). For USB to RS232 converters Omron has a good one, part name CJ1W-CIF31, that can be used also with different environments (IIRC Siemens recommended it straight on for using with Step 7). Another good choice is Moxa, type UPort 1100.