Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Patriot

Proficy ME View with Quickpanel HMI

2 posts in this topic

I am working on several Quickpanel Intermediate 12" color TFT touchscreens, and I am using Proficy ME View 7.0 to do this. Someone has already created the PLC programs, and these are running systems where the PLC will not be changed any further. I need to import the PLC tags, but noticed that using shared variables, or trying to include the PLC target in the same project file as the HMI target causes a warning that I only have a 30 day trial license for the Ladder Dev. portion of Proficy. I do have a full license for the View software for the HMI. I only have a 30 day trial for the Ladder software. I will be communicating to the GE PLCs (existing 90-30s) via GE TCP/IP. I am replacing custom VB6 code with these Quickpanels, so I am really just doing an HMI replacement. I am new with this software, and I do not want to spend $6,000 for the Ladder software if I am not doing any PLC programming. I just need the variables so I can tag the HMI objects to these PLC variables. I think that I can just go to the Native PLC driver for GE Ethernet, assign an import file, and import an SNF tag file that I was able to export from the PLC project using my trial version of the Proficy PLC Ladder Dev. I tried this, and the variables seemed to be imported without any trouble. I was given advice from GE tech support that I needed to use an OPC driver, and import the tags through a wizard in the OPC driver setup. I never saw this wizard, and I don't think I see the point of the OPC driver. Can I not still use a Native PLC driver option for communications? Should I be ok doing the import of the PLC tags in the manner I did it? Anyone with some experience with this have any suggestions?