Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jazzplayermark

New user can't connect crimson emulator to plc

11 posts in this topic

I've been retired for many and just now coming back into PLC programming. I have NO experience using HMIs. In my first attempt I'm trying to connect an AB micrologix 1100. I have the following in place: AB Micrologix 1100 RxLinx classic RsLogix 500 micro crimson 3.0 and old Dell pc with one serial port and ethernet I have com1 configure as DF1-master I have an ethernet cable connected to the plc and configured. I can ping it fine so I think the connection is good. I can download a program from rslogix to the plc and it runs fine. I have configured a very simple control panel in crimson but I can't get the emulator to talk to the plc at all. I've been over the communications setting many times and just can't find anything wrong. I guess I'm lost as to how to troubleshoot it. I'd like to be able to verify that the communcations from the crimson emulator and the plc are working, but I can't seen to find a way to do that. Any help would be appreciated.

Under Link > Options > Panel Emulation, click the "Configure..." button. Then make sure that under "Ethernet Mapping, Ethernet Port 1" to select your PC ethernet card. I think that might be the only thing I've had to do in the past. Also, what build of Crimson are you using? Early versions had an issue with emulated ethernet comms. Edited by OkiePC

I've never used the emulator since I generally have the physical device on the table in front of me. I just tried it on an existing project and it worked fine. May be a dumb question, but do you have the PLC set up under "Communications" in the navigation pane?

I have given the HMI an IP address on the "Network" settings: I have the ethernet port protocol 1 set to "Allen-Bradley DF1 Master". Under that, I have one device (see settings below). I don't recall changing any of these settings except the IP address set to identify the SLC. Edited by OkiePC