Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Emach

New stages

5 posts in this topic

First a little about me: I am a newbie in the controls arena, previously working in systems level engineering and display hardware development. I changed careers back in February and went to work for a company manufacturing automotive components. I am 1 of 2 EE's at this facility and have an entire testing lab, approximately 10 or so machines assigned all to me. The other EE works on keeping the manufacturing lines running and hasn’t played with AD PLCs in several years. Onto the problem at hand, I have a older testing machine running a DL405-440 processor and was recently tasked with implementing some new functionality. The new test relies on the PLC seeing a 4-20mA speed coming from a Yokogawa 800 plus meter reading quadrature. When the PLC sees the speed fall below a certain set point it energizes an output. My issue is even after stripping the program down to its minimum (140 rows compared to over 230) and removing references to now nonexistent stages, I am really missing my speed setpoint. Using some math and product data sheets my delay from the Yokogawa meter seeing the speed to the output energizing should be 180 ms total. The PLC's loop is 85 ms of that delay... It should be getting new readings from the meter every 40ms (10 ms gate time and 30 ms to set the new mA value). A separate high speed data acquisition system (a NI cDAQ) watches the speed from the same sensor, but off of a separate output and not through the meter, and the target output. This is how I know I am really missing my speed setpoint. Assuming the 180 ms delay is the real delay I see in the system I should be activating that output at a much higher speed but I am not. My guess is that I am getting caught in other program loops and thereby artificially inflating that loop time. So my question is any pointers for how to get the PLC to call the stage with the speed check and output after every stage? I tried simpl