Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jstalman

Micrologix 1400 HSC

13 posts in this topic

Hello, I am pretty new to the PLC world and currently have a project involving a 360 PPR encoder. But I am not getting very many pulses. I had 13 revs of the encoder and only received 37 pulses. I have also attached a 4.7k pull down resistor thinking that might help. I went to setup a HSC on my 1400 but it wouldn't let me select it. All I have is HSL and RAC the rest of the options are grayed out.. What would be the best way to set this up? Ive attached my logix in case someone needs to view it to get a better idea of what im doing. Thanks Much Jesse rewrap.RSS

You are trying to use the high speed inputs totally incorrectly. Get the manual for the 1400 and read the section entitled "Using the High-Speed Counter and Programmable Limit Switch". The High Speed Counter Function File is the center of your control. You may have to shift some of your inputs around. I suggest using Mode 0 which will use I:0/0 as the input. Edited by b_carlton

I downloaded the 480 pg manual before posting but didn't see that section I also looked again. Is it buried in another section, am I look at the wrong manual or am I just blind? Is this the same manual that you have? When I wrote the ladder I didn't intend on using a high speed counter but when it wouldn't count all the pulses I figured I would have to now. But thanks for the pointers.

found it I was looking at the user manual not the instruction set reference. Thanks for your help!

Also you were resetting your 'encoder counter' (C5:0) at the same time as C5:1. And it had a preset of zero. Were you going to count as many pulses which represented one inch, increment C5:1 (using C5:0's DN bitZ) then reset C5:0 to count up for another inch?