Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Boobo-oobo

NTC temperature control

21 posts in this topic

Hi, I have a CP1L plc and a NQ3 touch screen, and need to make a program that controls the temperature of heating plates. The temp. of the plate is around 180 degrees C, and i was planing to use a NTC reisistor to measure the temp. My question is, is it possible to make such a ladder program that will control that using a NTC resistor, and could someone give me some directions to how to make such a program, cause i have little knowledge about this kind of thing, I know how to make simple ladder programs, but this is a bit more complex. Can the plc directly measure the analog value of the temp with the NTC resistor, or it needs some kind of an device to do that? Dont know if you need any more info. about all this . . . Thanks, Marko.

My advice would be to use a thermocouple and a temperature controler. There is no analog input on CP1L. NTC, as far as i know, are not very good for that application.

Could you explain that a bit further? How would I exactly do that? To explain a bit more, i need to enter a temp. on the screen (like 180C) and the PLC has to get to that temp, and keep it that way. Are there any good examples of that?

Do you have a PLC anyway on that project or do you plan to use it only for this?

The PLC is only for the temp. regulation. I have to make it so that he reads the temp. and heats the plates accordingly. The program would go like this, you enter the temp you want, PLC reads current temp, then if the plates are cold, heats it up to the temp, and keeps that temp. Now my problem is how to read the temp.

You need a temperature controler (not a PLC). It read the temperature, dislay it, and control your heating device (SSR...) There is an example: https://www.omron247.com/Industrial-Automation/Store/OmronProductDetailView?productId=61447&langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10051&parent_category_rn=12312