Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
noxcuses

Two Motors with one AC Drive

9 posts in this topic

I'm working on a project where the mechanical guys used two AC motors instead of one motor & gearbox with dual outputs. Ideally, the two motors need to run at the same RPM, but some variance is ok. Since the speed of the pair will be adjusted together, I'm thinking of running both off one AC Drive. The motors are same brand & part number 230VAC .5HP 2A FLA. My plan is to get a drive with 4 Amp cont. output and two 2A (non Solid state) overloads. The overloads will be in parallel from the drive output and status contacts will be wired in the drive enable circuit and PLC. If either of the overloads trip it will stop the drive and signal PLC. I've never done this before and can't find much information on this configuration. There will be at least 4 pairs of these on the system, so panel space and component cost is the reason for taking this direction. Any suggestions? Is this acceptable? Edited by noxcuses

I've done this with 4 motors on 1 inverter, as long as you have an individual overload per motor, as you say, in parallel on the inverter output, it'll be OK. I've done this on a roller conveyor line.

We have several setups like this as well (fans and pumps) and it's fine as long as the inverter is sized correctly and each motor is individually protected by overloads. You should not have a problem.

Just a reminder the individual overloads is not a niceity it is an NEC Code Requirement.