Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Priority 1 Services

Trouble Connecting to Older Versions of CPU 311 & 331

18 posts in this topic

Hi there. I have some experience but not much with newer GE PLC's and software; however, I ran across a GE 90-30 system that is approximately 20 years old. There are a total of three PLC's on site, one CPU331 and two CPU311's. All three were programmed with LM90 v 1.04 and there is no copy of the programs except for a physical printout. I was attempting to replace the 311 CPU's before they failed and upgrade the 331 to a CPU 350. In addition, because the site had no digital copy of either program I was going to convert them to the latest and greatest so they would be protected in the event of a failure. When we arrived on site the PLC with the 331 CPU only had the PWR LED light on. The OK and RUN lights were not on. I expected to have potential issues connecting with this one because of a possible failure; but, I couldn't connect with either VersaPro or Cimplicity. I used Scan Comm Test to verify the settings and insure there was no port conflict without any problems but no matter what I tried I could not connect to any of the three. The two CPU 311's were were in normal run mode and operating correctly by the way. I am not sure the vintage of each of the three CPU's but I know the job was done in 1990 so I am guessing it is a very early edition. My question is are there some versions of these CPU's which will not allow me to connect with VersaPro 2.04 Professional and Cimplicity ME 6.1. I do a lot of service work for GE and have used both of these programs many times both serially and via ethernet so I am confident after 8 hours I would have figured out if I was making a stupid mistake. My current thought is these versions do not have the firmware that will allow me to communicate with either program and will need to use LM90 to extract the program and then I will be free to convert it to either VersaPro or ME and install that pro