Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
sandeep424

Serial Communication

7 posts in this topic

Hello I am doing a project related to Allen Bradley PLC and SCadaPack LP PLC's. Our team has developed a device(i.e. written a code and implemented it on a FPGA Board) which does some work for PLC. Now we need to connect this board to the PLC and establish a Serial Communication using RS-232 port. I am very new to the concepts of PLC's and after a long study of many papers and manuals related to PLC's, I understood that ScadaPack PLC'c have two RS-232 ports COM2, COM3 which i can used to connect to the device and communicate with. And in Allen Bradley PLC's, there's a channel 0 RS-232 port which can be connected. Is this information right?. And from manuals I came to know that these ports follow ModBus RTU mode serial protocol for communication, is this also right information?. The ScadaPack PLC uses Telepace software to configure these ports and iFix software as an interface to the working of the PLC , my doubt with this when i connect my device to the PLC does the iFix software automotically detect my device or do i need to do soem changes or configuration part in Telepace software, Can anyone please help me with this or provide any documents which can clear my doubts? The Allen Bradley PLC uses RS logix 500 software for interface part. Does this software also directly detecs my device when i connect it to the PLC or do I need to do some changes in it. Can anyone Please help me with this. -Sandeep