Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Ronald V

working with decimals

10 posts in this topic

Hello all, I am a newbie to this plc thing and already have a great challenge I need to calculate following; D0=((D1*D2)*(D3/1000000))/1000 = 0,0002170 kg/pulse D1 = Number of strands = 2 D2 = Diameter of roll = 45.2 mm D3 = thickness of strands= 1200 D4 = totalized count of IN1*D0 D5 = ppm IN1*D0 = xx.xx kg/min Every time a input signal is presented at IN1 it have to be multiplied with D0 to see the KG/min In1 has a frequency between 0 and 6000 ppm The problem I have is getting D2 into the formula because of the decimal point and calculating the ppm on In1 to display the actual rate of D5 Anny suggestions are welcome Edited by Ronald V

Hi and "welkom" to MrPLC! Best would be to use math instructions for real data (floating), but it depends on the CPU you are using. What CPU type?

That's good, CP1L can do floating data. I suggest you go to the Download Centre and do a search for CP1L manuals. Download the programming manual. Check section 3-14, floating point math instructions. The advantage of floating point data is that you can preserve decimal point accuracy when doing calculations. This looks like a perfect formula for a Function Block, but perhaps at first you just program it in ladder, and when working you can convert the ladder to a FB. It will be a good learning curve! One tip on a sidenote; I just did a similar hardware setup, and discovered that the NQ3 comms performance is very bad using Host Link. Unfortunately because it has only one port, you cannot change comms method after you have started a project and added tags to the host. I suggest you set the comms to NT Link if you did not already...