Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Firetubes

CPM2A and C200HX-CPU44 on Ethernet

26 posts in this topic

I'm not an expert with Omron but we have a CPMA and C200HX-CPU44 that we want to collect some data off of with our PC running Wonderware Intouch. My question is that is it possible to put these processor on Ethernet via an adapter or gateway device or will I have to run serial cable from them to the PC? Optionally, I was also thinking of upgrading them to CS1G-CPU45H so that they are similiar to our other CPU's but not sure if the program will need to be rewritten? Thanks for any input.

Those models do not support Ethernet. You could upgrade them both to versions that do, the CPM1/2A could be replaced with a CPL/M/H, that has a Ethernet module available, and the C200HX would need to have the backplane & CPU upgraded, to allow for an ethernet module to be added to the rack, providing there is a spare slot? One of the good things with the Omron platform, is a conversion from an earlier model is very easily done. IMO that would be a pricey way to go just to get some data from them. You could get an ethernet to serial gateway, I cannot think of any reason why these would not work, and would be a fraction of the cost & time involved in upgrading. Bearing in mind however, that standardising is also a good idea....

Thanks for the suggestions, Scott. Do you know what serial protocol is use by the CPM2A and C200HX-CPU44? I guess my next step is to find a DDE or OPC IO server. Update: Ok so I did a little poking around and there's plenty of OPC servers for the C200HX from well know companies but not for the CPM2A. Any recommendations? I would like a server that can handle both rather than buying separate packages. I read up on the Omron CX-Server OPC and believe this will work with both PLC's? Edited by Firetubes

Whilst I think about it, are any of your CS1 PLC's connected to the InTouch system? If so, then what protocol are they using?