Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
CJM

Communication Question

14 posts in this topic

Hello all, I am starting to upgrade some of my PLC5's to CompactLogix, I have not set anything up yet because I am new to 5000 but I have the RStrainers from fundamentals up to Motion. My question is that I have a L32E and want to use the RS232 to communicate from my laptop so I can setup the program and mess around with it as well as learn a little. I do not have a serial port and can not use a PCMK? card. I have a 1747-UIC but I cant seem to get it to auto configure. I think my problem is my cable. I am using a Female to Female 2706 cable that I had from an Inview. I believe I need to order the right cable. I just want to be sure the USB adapter (1747-UIC) is right. I have not tried to communicate with a 5/500 with the 1747-UIC. I have driver UIC-DH485, but I am not sure if I am using the right driver for RS232 or the right USB adapter. Any help is appreciated. If I am not giving enough info or too much let me know. Thanks CJM

If you have an L32E, use ethernet connection from your lap top. If it is a direct conection use a cross over cable, otherwise patch the PLC and your laptop to an ethernet switch. Set the IP adress in the PLC using BootP, set your laptop IP to something in the same IP range, then use the ethernet IP driver in RsLinx.

Thanks, I have never done it that way I am not an IT guy but I will try it until I get it. If I do the Direct Connect do I use Ethernet Devices Driver and go from there? I oversee the maintenance on my plants packaging equipment and have been trying the learn on the run. I am not doing the upgrade until Feb but my objective is to be as competant with 5000 as I can be with the training software and trial and error process.