Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
HiGhVoLtAgEgUrU

RTD to PLC

31 posts in this topic

I have micologix 1100, I'd like to hook up a rtd to it. I understand AB makes module that you can hook the rtd straight to it. is there other way to do it? and which one is cost effective. if someone has any literarature or diagrams on how to hook it, I would appericiate it. I'm new to the analog stuff, I have some idea but not whole alot. I have digital stuff down about 75% percent. thanks for the help

Easiest way, would be to buy a transmitter that takes the rtd value and converts it to standard voltage or milliamp outputs. There are many brands on the market, for low end apps, I usually use these folks: http://www.omega.com/toc_asp/sectionSC.asp...ook=temperature

I got this old (not that old) RTD. it already has the transmitter in it. so in this case I dont need to use the RTD module right? I can just take the -4, +5 wires staright to an analog input card?. which I already have on the rack. And this would be the 4- 20ma signal? thx guys

-4, + 5 wires???. What is the complete catalog number of your analog input card? Does the RTD transmitter output 4 to 20ma or?

-4, +5 are inside the transmitter (RTD). This rtd has a transmitter already built in. so -4 and +5 goes to the plc analog module 1762-IF4? Three wires that comes from the probe are hooked to a hockey puck (transmitter) inside the rtd and -4, +5 will be hooked up the 1762 module?

Whats the brand and cat. no. of this RTD transmitter? Do you have a link to its manual?

Whats the brand and cat. no. of this RTD transmitter? Do you have a link to its manual?

Can someone explain how can I hook this up to a 1762-if4 module. and then how can I view it in program. I have attached a word doc. of pyromation RTD transmitter. thx Doc1.doc

alright, so now i have the RTD hooked up according to the diagram you provided, it hooked to the moudle input +0, -0, and now what do i do?? how do i configure it in the plc