Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Kristian

CPM2A - Problem with BCD math calculations

15 posts in this topic

Hi I am a beginner to Omron PLCs. My application is a cable cutting machine and I am using a CPM2A. I get feedback of the length of wire needed from the HMI and post it into address 35.00 (working byte) I then need to multiply the value inputted by 10000 and then divide it by the roller circumference (also multiplied by 10000) to get the actual number of revolutions needed until I switch off the feed motor. Now when I tried to use BCD multiply the answer is always wrong. All addresses are set as HR00, HR02, HR04, etc. except the Length needed inputted through the HMI. the answers for the first multiplication as shown in the picture are as follows 1 x 100 = 100 2 x 100 = 296 3 x 100 = 402 4 x 100 = 598 5 x 100 = 800 etc. PLEASE HELP! Kris

Can you post your current CPM2A program? Also, 35.00 would be a bit address. What HMI are you using?

I am not using 35.00, but IR035. My HMI is an NT2S-SF122B-EV2 CCM.cxp

Have not looked at your plc program yet, but have a question. What is the data format setting for IR035 in your NT2S program? What software are you using to program the NT2S? Now, I have looked at your plc code. BCD values need to be set using the # "data type" The & "data type" is decimal (not the same thing). Also, a MOV instruction will move 4 digits. If you look at the raw value in IR035, that value is #2710. For the size numbers you are working with, you will need to use the MULL(56) Double BCD Multiply. This instruction will require two consecutive words for the top and middle node and four consecutive words for the bottom node. There is still the question of the data being sent to the plc from the NT2S. Hope this will help.

Thanks. The program I am using is NT2S_2.00A. I set the value as type integer, does it have to be set to BCD?