Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Weld_Man

Barcode Scanners

7 posts in this topic

Hello everybody, I have an application that will require the use of a barcode scanner. I have no experience with them yet, and have been doing as much research as I can. I would like to know if I am getting a good handle on things so far. -Communicate via RS232 with an Omron scu21 Comm unit. Using Omron CJ1M plc -Powered by the RS232 port? (5 VDC) Is this possible? -Able to read code 39, 128 barcodes (no problem) -Fixed mount scanner (when does it know to scan?) I would be scanning the barcode, setting up parameters for the specific code and saving it in a database I will be creating in the PLC. Would also be able to call up the specific parameters when a code is scanned also. Sounds easy huh? I will be using receive and transmit instructions to read the barcode. And be using the string/move instructions to create my database. Am I heading in the right direction at all? Any tips or problems I might encounter? I’ve been looking at Symbol and Datalogic scanners so far. For my application this is more general use bar scanning, no high-speed applications. I can’t find much help out on the web if you guys have any good links let me know. Thanks!

Well from past experince with bar code scanners and readers, they will allow an external trigger to let them read the right code, or they can be configured to accept any code that it "sees" as long as that code is legible. I've used scanners to configure machines by product, and prefered to have it do the scan when the product is presented.