Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mad1

Omron C28K

29 posts in this topic

I need to learn the programming language for the Omron 28K for which I have no experience on. Any information to assist in my learning would be appreciated. Thanks

Have you looked at the manuals? I provided a link on your post on plcs.net. You can find the manuals on this website in the Omron section of the Download Code page. At this point, your post is very general. Try to give us an example of what you are having trouble with. Part of your project will be to figure out how to use the information you find. Not trying to be harsh, but you will not learn if someone else is doing the work. Check out the manuals and let us know what you need help understanding.

being a very old PLC, it will probably only be ladder. So it can't be that difficult. I hope you still have the soft and hardware to connect to the C28, because they are obsolete...

Yes, I have read thru the manuals that I have. I did not want the work done for me, what was the purpose of taking the class then? Edited, sounded confusing. Will post later! Edited by mad1

The function numbers should still be the same. As for memories you should check the intruction/ programming manual for the C-series PLC's

I got the post in email before you edited. The C28K was out BEFORE we had software. All the information on programming is in the manual (W146). I know it can be "easier" to use the computer, but the manual really does a better job of explaining what the instruction is and how it works. Honestly, the online help is not the greatest (IMHO). It is getting better, but I still use the manuals. Section 3 covers the Memory Map. This will explain the different memory areas and what they do. Section 5 covers the Instruction Set. Each instruction is detailed with the memory areas it will work with. If you have a particular instruction you want to understand, let me know what it is and I will do my best to help.